[Solved] Diskpart Delete Partition Override Not Working

Jean updated on Nov 30, 2018 to Partition Manager | How-to Articles

About Delete Partition Override

Under Disk Management program, Windows users can easily delete a partition they don't need anymore. Besides, some of the higher-leveled members tend to directly remove the unwanted partition through command prompt with diskpart utility.

For example, type the command 'delete partition x:' and hit enter, then the selected partition is immediately removed. But only exclude those volumes that were hidden or system protected.

It turns out that delete partition command doesn't take effect on hidden partitions as well as protected partitions. At this moment, you must know another command, which is 'delete partition override'.

diskpart delete partition override

Delete Partition Override Not Working, How to Solve

As we explained, the command 'delete partition' simply permits you to delete data partitions, while 'delete partition override' comes to play its role when attempting to remove a hidden partition and a protected partition.

Unfortunately, many average users don't know such a command totally. Meanwhile, the minor group who have some knowledge about how to use the command find difficulty in making full use of it, because after executing delete partition override, diskpart crashed now and then.

Do not upset if you were a victim. There is a better alternative solution to manage your 'special' partitions. It's a third-party free partition manager, which is considered as the best diskpart alternative.

Click the download button once, and the download progress should begin. With rich disk management features included, this piece of software can perfectly troubleshoot the issue of diskpart deleting a hidden partition failed.

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Guide: How to Delete a Hidden Partition with EaseUS Partition Master

After the successful installation, launch the program. On the disk map, your hidden partition will be presented as * without assigning a drive letter to it.

Notice:
If you saved important data in the partition which you want to delete, move and save those data to another secure location in advance.
 

Step 1: Install and launch EaseUS Partition Master on PC

On the main window, right-click on the hard drive partition which you want to delete and select "Delete".

Select parittion to delete

Step 2: Confirm the deletion

Click "OK" to confirm that you want to delete the selected partition.

Confirm to delete partition

Step 3: Execute to delete the partition

Click the "Execute Operation" button at the top corner and keep all changes by clicking "Apply".

Complete the deleting process

You can continue to create partition or format partition you just deleted with EaseUS Partition Master. There are so many useful functions that will help you manage any hard disk storage devices in all ways.

 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.