Delete Partition with Diskpart & Partition Manager

Daisy updated on Nov 29, 2018 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

Delete Partition with Diskpart or Partition Manager

Hard drive partition management is always an important task that faced with most computer users. Sometimes people need to delete partition due to virus attack, low disk space problem caused by the dual operating system or some other reasons. But which tool will you choose to do the job, diskpart or third-party partition manager? In this page, we will talk about these two tools and introduce how to delete hard drive partition with diskpart command and EaseUS partition tool.

How to Delete Partition with the Diskpart Command

Diskpart is a command-line interpreter in Windows operating system designed as a disk management tool. It can be used to resolve some common disk problems, for example, create, delete, and resize hard drive partitions as well as assign or reassign drive letters. Now let’s look at how to use diskpart to delete the partition. 

1. Open the command prompt and type "diskpart".

2. After the launch of diskpart, write in the diskpart window "list volume".

3. In results, choose the partition which you want to delete with select volume "x" and type delete volume. If you receive an error type "delete volume override". Type "exit" and restart PC.

How to Delete Partition with EaseUS Partition Software

Diskpart command sometimes does help. However, there are also several limitations to delete the partition with it.

  • The partition contains the operating system cannot be deleted.
  • The drive contains the "pagefile.sys" folder, which means the virtual memory, cannot be deleted.

So sometimes, you might fail to delete a disk partition with diskpart command. Then how do you do the task? Here you might try a third-party tool. EaseUS partition software coming with many advanced disk management feature can do you a favor. It can help you delete partitions in all Windows editions with no limitations.

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Notice:
If you saved important data in the partition which you want to delete, move and save those data to another secure location in advance.
 

Step 1: Select partition to delete

On EaseUS Partition Master, right-click on the hard drive partition which you want to delete and select "Delete".

Select parittion to delete

Step 2: Confirm the deletion

Click "OK" to confirm that you want to delete the selected partition.

Confirm to delete partition

Step 3: Execute to delete the partition

Click the "Execute Operation" button at the top corner and keep all changes by clicking "Apply".

Complete the deleting process
 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.