Delete OEM Partition in Windows 10/8/7/XP/Vista

Tracy King updated on Sep 12, 2019 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

Can't delete OEM partition in Windows

"I have a Dell laptop for two years and now the hard drive is running in low disk space. So I need to find a way to free up some space to get a better performance. When checking the device, I noticed that there was an empty partition which says 14.75 GB, Healthy (OEM Partition). I don't know what it is and can't delete it like other partitions. Every time when I open Disk Management and right-click on the partition, I only get the Help option without a delete option. What should I do to remove OEM partition? And is it safe to do that?"

OEM partition is designed for system recovery or factory restore. It allows users to easily and quickly restore the system to the original state when system failure or system crash occurs. This partition usually comes with Dell, Lenovo or HP computer. And some people want to delete OEM partitions to extend more space since they don't plan to restore the device to factory setting.

Then a problem comes out. Windows Disk Management tool doesn't support to remove the OEM partition. Fortunately, users can use Diskpart and a third-party partition manager software - EaseUS Partition Master for help. Here we will talk about it in details.

Delete OEM partition with Diskpart

Step 1. Hit "Windows Key + R to open the run dialogue box, enter: diskpart and click "OK" to open a black command prompt window.

Step 2. Type: list disk to display all the disks of your computer. Type: select disk n to identify which disk you need to work with. Here "n" stands for the disk letter.

Step 3. Type: list partition to display all the volumes on the hard drive. Type: select partition n to identify which partition you want to remove. Here n stands for the volume letter.

Step 4. Type: delete partition override to remove the OEM partition. Finally, type: exit to close the windows when you receive the message says, DiskPart successfully deleted the selected partition".

Delete OEM partition with EaseUS free partition manager

As a command line utility, DiskPart is difficult for average users to understand and use due to its non-graphical interface. For an easy and effective solution, we recommend you try EaseUS free partition manager - Partition Master Free Edition. This program makes OEM partition deleting job as easy as 1-2-3. 

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Notice:
If you saved important data in the partition which you want to delete, move and save those data to another secure location in advance.
 

Step 1: Install and launch EaseUS Partition Master on PC

On the main window, right-click on the hard drive partition which you want to delete and select "Delete".

Select parittion to delete

Step 2: Confirm the deletion

Click "OK" to confirm that you want to delete the selected partition.

Confirm to delete partition

Step 3: Execute to delete the partition

Click the "Execute Operation" button at the top corner and keep all changes by clicking "Apply".

Complete the deleting process
 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.