How to Remove or Format GPT Disk Partition

Brithny updated on Aug 12, 2019 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

What is GPT

In computer hardware, GUID Partition Table (GPT) is a standard for the layout of the partition table on a physical hard disk. Although it forms a part of the Extensible Firmware Interface (EFI) standard (Intel's proposed replacement for the PC BIOS), it is also used on some BIOS systems because of the limitations of MBR partition tables, which restrict a disk and partition's size to a maximum of 2TB. GPT allows for a maximum disk and partition size of 9.4 ZB.

Why need to remove or delete GPT disk partition

In some cases, people may want to remove or delete the GPT disk partitions. Some computer users want to remove single GPT disk partition for their special needs. For example, the first partition is low disk space, while the second partition is not used yet. If so, he can remove the second GPT disk partition and extend the first one. For detailed steps of extending GPT disk partition, please refer to resize GPT disk partition with the unallocated space.

Other computer users would remove all GPT disk partitions. For example, convert GPT disk to MBR disk. As they are two different partition table styles, if you want to convert GPT disk to MBR disk, you need to remove all partitions on the GPT disk before converting.

How to remove GPT disk partition 

As free partition manager, EaseUS Partition Master can resize, copy, clone, remove or delete GPT disk partition, etc. The following is how to remove GPT disk partition with EaseUS Partition Master free edition.

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Case 1: Remove single GPT disk partition

Notice:
If you saved important data in the partition which you want to delete, move and save those data to another secure location in advance.
 

Step 1: Select partition to delete

On EaseUS Partition Master, right-click on the hard drive partition which you want to delete and select "Delete".

Select parittion to delete

Step 2: Confirm the deletion

Click "OK" to confirm that you want to delete the selected partition.

Confirm to delete partition

Step 3: Execute to delete the partition

Click the "Execute Operation" button at the top corner and keep all changes by clicking "Apply".

Complete the deleting process
 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.