It's Safe to Delete System Reserved Partition All Windows Versions

Brithny updated on Nov 30, 2018 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

It's unlikely for most of the computer users to notice a non-drive letter assigned partition called "system reserved" until they open Disk Management under Windows 7, 8 or 10. Recently, some people ask a common question about the system reserved partition to confirm whether it can be just removed, as for it takes up quite a lot of disk space. Albeit it is of great importance in booting up Windows, yes you can learn a safe way to delete system reserved partition by using a reliable and powerful free partition manager.

System reserved partition is created during the clean installation process of Windows operating system when you partition the computer hard drive. It starts from Windows 7 consuming 100 MB space, and continues to use on Windows 8 and Windows 10 but consuming more space which is 350 MB. Windows system reserved partition contains the Windows boot manager and boot configuration data, so it is very related to booting Windows from your system drive. But if you don't want this partition on your drive, you can just delete it by following the guide below by backing up the partition to a USB drive and then delete it.

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Safely delete system reserved partition on all Windows platforms

The truth is that you can't directly delete the system reserved partition under Windows 7,8 or 10 disk management since it contains system stuff. In this case, you need the help of the best Windows disk management alternative - EaseUS Partition Master.

For a safe removal of the critical partition, first you should copy the partition as a backup to an empty USB drive, and then start to empty the data inside and delete the partition. Follow the steps below.

Copy partition:

 

Step 1: Launch EaseUS Partition Master on your computer, right-click the partition you want to copy, and choose "Clone".

Clone Partition - Step 1

Step 2: EaseUS Partition Master will select the unallocated space on your computer as the target partition automatically. Check it and click "Next" to continue.

Clone Partition - Step 2

Step 3: Then you can adjust the size of the target partition according to your needs. After that, click "OK".

Clone Partition - Step 3

Step 4: Click the "Execute Operation" button in the top-left corner to review the changes, then click "Apply" to start cloning your partition.

Clone Partition - Step 3
  • Move the boot files from the system reserved partition onto the main Windows system drive

Delete partition:

After getting rid of the boot files on the partition, you can now easily delete it by right-clicking the partition and executing "Delete partition". It'll be removed in seconds.

delete partition
 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.