SSD System Reserved: How to Remove System Reserved Partition

Daisy updated on Dec 06, 2019 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

About SSD System Reserved Partition

  1. Jump to 1. What Is A System Reserved Drive?
  2. 2. Can I Delete The System Reserved Partition on SSD?
  3. 3. What to Do If System Reserved Partition is Not on SSD?
  4. 4. How to Remove System Reserved Partition from SSD in Windows 10/8.1/8/7

Many computer users have no idea about the System Reserved partition, so a general understanding of the term is helpful before you could properly handle it.

What Is SSD System Reserved?

The System Reserved partition is created during a clean/fresh install of Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1 or Windows 10, and it takes up a particular amount of hard disk space. For example, 100MB on Windows 7, 350MB on Windows 8 and 500MB on Windows 10. The partition goes closely related to the system boot process since it holds the Boot Configuration Database (BCD), Boot Manager Code, Windows Recovery Environment and reserves space for the startup files which may be required by BitLocker, in case you use the BitLocker Drive Encryption feature.

ssd system reserved partition

In conclusion, the System Reserved partition contains either of the two important things:

  • Windows bootable data
  • Bitlocker startup files

Can I Delete The System Reserved Partition on SSD?

You cannot directly delete the System Reserved partition under Windows 7, 8, or 10 Disk Management since it's hidden and protected with no drive letter. As you've learned, this partition has all of the boot information. If this partition is on the same disk as the OS SSD (as above image shows the System Reserved and C is on the same Disk 0), then do not delete it, or the computer won't boot.

What's more, if your purpose of trying to remove this partition is to release free space, it's kind of void because the System Reserved partition takes up little disk space from 100MB ~ 350MB. Why not leave it to be what it is?

What to Do If System Reserved Partition Is Not on SSD?

The chance is, sometimes the System Reserved partition and the OS partition are separated on two different hard drives. Usually, the result is caused by two hard drives are connected to the computer while installing the OS, and the Windows installer is confused to decide which one is the system drive.

How to protect Windows from creating such a system reserved partition on your computer HDD or SSD? When you do your Windows OS install, make sure that there are no drives connected apart from the one you're going to install onto. If another drive is available then the install kit will put the reserved partition there instead of on the OS drive.

How to Remove System Reserved Partition from SSD in Windows 10/8.1/8/7

So, is it safe to remove the partition in both cases? There are some situations in which you can remove the SSD System Reserved partition from PCs without worrying boot failure.

Sometimes an SSD partition labeled as "Reserved" may not be the real one that contains system boot files. To check whether it is the partition or not, you may try the following methods to have a test by using the built-in Windows Disk Management (This PC > Manage > Disk Management).

  • Check the contents of the partition by right-clicking on the partition, and clicking Change Drive Letter and Paths. Add an unused drive letter and browse the contents, it should be quite easy to search for any files you found and see if they're related to a system reserved partition.
  • Disconnect the drive from your machine and see if the machine has any trouble in booting. Test it and if you have no issues, it's safe to assume it's not going to cause any harm removing the one partition.

It's ok to remove such an SSD partition labeled as "Reserved" on the occasions listed above. Since Windows Disk Management won't allow operating on the labeled SSD reserved partition, you'd better employ a free partition manager to delete the system reserved partition which won't do any damage to a normal system boot process. Free download EaseUS Partition Master, and learn how to delete the partition.

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Notice:
If you saved important data in the partition which you want to delete, move and save those data to another secure location in advance.
 

Step 1: Select partition to delete

On EaseUS Partition Master, right-click on the hard drive partition which you want to delete and select "Delete".

Select parittion to delete

Step 2: Confirm the deletion

Click "OK" to confirm that you want to delete the selected partition.

Confirm to delete partition

Step 3: Execute to delete the partition

Click the "Execute Operation" button at the top corner and keep all changes by clicking "Apply".

Complete the deleting process

However, if the test went not so smooth with the two mentioned situations, then trying to remove SSD reserved partition becomes a real tough task, which might be too complicated to handle for ordinary people with a little technical background. In this case, we do not recommend removing the partition, just let it be there on your solid-state drive, as any improper handle with it may cause serious booting problems. 

 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.