How to Secure Erase SSD or HDD for Free

Roxanne updated on Dec 06, 2019 to Partition Manager | How-to Articles

When you attempt you prepare your storage device for a new user, you may need to secure erase the SSD or HDD to protect your private data. What is secure erase and how to do it? Read on and you will know all about it.

What Is Secure Erase

Secure Erase is, in essence, a set of commands that are available from the firmware on PATA/SATA based hard drives. It is a term for a data sanitation method that completely overwrites all of the data on a hard drive by writing a binary one or zero to the sectors on the storage device. That means once you perform a Secure Erase, there will be no chance to recover data from the device. But from a different perspective, Secure Erase is a perfect way to prepare your storage device for reuse or resale.

Can You Secure Erase SSD

Yes, you can. But only with the help of an SSD erasing tool or utility. Since the Secure Erase commands are only available from the hard drive firmware, you can not run the commands as you do in Command Prompt. Therefore, you will need a hard drive erasing tool to help you to secure erase your solid-state drive.

The Tool You Need - Free SSD Erase Tool

The free partition manager - EaseUS Partition Master, can also serve the function of an SSD erasing tool to securely erase an SSD or HDD for you. The "Wipe Data" feature works almost identical to the Secure Erase commands. The only difference is that the free tool erases your data permanently by writing random numbers, not binary one or zero. No matter what the process is, the outcome is the same: your SSD or HDD will be securely wiped out.

How to Secure Erase SSD or HDD

Do make sure you have backed up all the needed files on the hard drive you are going to erase. To back up a whole disk effectively, you can use the free backup software to do it for you. Once it's done, the data stored will be lost forever.

To secure erase an SSD or HDD with the free SSD erasing tool:

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Step 1: Install and launch EaseUS Partition Master.

Select the HDD or SSD which you want to wipe. And right-click to choose "Wipe Data".

select wipe data

Step 2: Set the number of times to wipe data.

You can set to 10 at most. Then Click "OK".

set the times

Step 3: Check the message.

A message tells you that the computer would restart after disk erase is recommended. Then click "OK".

check the message

Step 4: Click "Apply" to apply the changes.

Click "Execute the operation" and then click "Apply" to start wiping data.

start wiping data

The time it will take to wipe out an SSD or HDD varies, depending on the capacity of your SSD or HDD. Generally, it's longer than simply delete files due to the additional overwriting process. Thus, if you have a large-size disk to wipe, wait patiently for the process to complete.

EaseUS Partition Master is powerful software that will fulfill many of your disk-related needs. With the free software installed, you can:

  • Resize partitions to allocate your disk space according to your needs
  • Merge partitions to expand the storage
  • Create/format/delete partitions to prepare the space of reuse
  • Convert the disk/partition between primary and logical, MBR and GPT, or from FAT to NTFS

If you upgrade to the Pro version, there will be more useful features available, like OS migration, partition recovery, and bootable disk creation.

Knowledge Base: Does Secure Erase Damage SSD

That depends on how many times does the Secure Erase overwrite the cells on the disk. Too many overwrites might lower the lifespan of the SSD. But don't fret. Just wiping the SSD three or five times won't really do much damage to the SSD. Thus, feel free to secure erase the SSD because there is no detrimental effect on the storage device as you may expect.

The Bottom Line

Secure Erase can securely wipe out your SSD or HDD and make the data unrecoverable. Given that, it's a good choice when you want to sanitize the drive and recover its performance. The free SSD erasing tool from EaseUS not only allows you to securely erase your SSD or HDD with simple clicks but also enables you to back up the whole disk quickly before the cleanup when necessary.

 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.