How to Merge C and D Drive in Windows 10

Abby Haines updated on Sep 23, 2019 to Partition Manager | How-to Articles

Can I Merge C and D drive in Windows 10 without losing any data?

I upgraded my computer from Windows 7 to Windows 10 and installed some new game software. As everything defaults to C, there are more and more data stored in C drive. Now I find that my system partition is nearly out of space while D drive has lots of free space. So, for a better performance, I would like to merge C & D drive to enlarge the boot partition. But I don't know how can I do it in Windows 10. And I am also wondering that if I will be required to delete all the data. Any suggestion?

Many users have encountered the situation that C drive is running out of space. While facing such a problem, you can choose to merge C & D drive in Windows 10 to solve the problem easily, especially when the D drive is nearly empty or has lots of free space. But how can you merge partitions without data loss? I think it is the topic that many users are interested in. Next, we will talk about it in details.

Merge C and D drive in Windows 10 with EaseUS partition tool

Many people may know that Windows built-in Disk Management can help to merge C & D drive in Windows 10 for free. But the program has its own drawback. It requires you to delete the other partition before merging the C and D drives since the Disk Management cannot directly resize the partition.

Delete D drive to merge C and D drive.

So to protect your files on D drive without deleting the partition, you might need a third-party partition tool for help. We recommend you EaseUS partition tool. It supports to merge partitions directly without deleting other partitions in advance.

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Three steps to combine and merge C and D drive in Windows 10 without losing data:

 

Step 1: Install and launch EaseUS Partition Master on your PC

Right-click on the partition which you want to add space to and keep on the hard drive, and select "Merge".

Run EaseUS partition manager software

Step 2: Select partitions to merge

1. Select one partition next to the former selected partition.
2. And click "OK" to continue.

Select partitions to merge

Step 3: Merge partitions

1. Click the "Execute Operation" button at the top and then click "Apply".
2. The program will merge space and add files from the second partition to the first partition.

Select partitions to merge
Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.