> How to > File Recovery > How to Recover Deleted Chrome History

How to Recover Deleted Chrome History

Updated on Nov 14, 2018 by Tracy King to File Recovery

Summary

Did you lose some important Chrome browsing histories? How to find your deleted history in Google Chrome? This tutorial offers you three effective methods to recover deleted history from Google Chrome with ease. Read on and find out how to fix this problem now.

Have you carelessly deleted your valuable Chrome browsing history files? Did you lose all important Chrome bookmarks? Are you being unable to access the history after updating your Chrome?

If you are one of the Chrome users who is facing the above-listed problems in Chrome, relax! And all complex Chrome history loss problems can be fixed now. EaseUS software offers effective solutions to help you find and recover deleted Chrome browsing history in this article. 

Solution 1: Use DNS Cache to recover deleted Chrome browsing history

Please connect your computer to the internet and do not shut down or restart your computer if you need to recover your lost Chrome history. Follow the next steps to find your deleted Chrome browsing history by using DNS now:

  • Step 1: Press Windows + R, type cmd and click OK. Or, you can also type cmd in the Windows search bar.
  • Step 2: Open Command Prompt, type ipcongif /displaydns and click Enter.

Recover Chrome history files.

Once done, all your recently visited websites will be displayed. You can view all of your recent browsing histories on Chrome and find those important history files back again.

Solution 2. Restore Chrome browsing history from Google History

If you have a Google Account, whenever you lose your Chrome browsing files or Bookmarks, you still have a chance to get them back via Google History. Google History will install all of your browsing history including Bookmarks that are stored in your Google Account. Let's see how to recover deleted Chrome history via Google History now: 

  • Step 1: Search Google History > Click Welcome to My Activity - Google.
  • Step 2: Sign-in with your Google account.
  • Step 3: Then all of your browser/internet history files will be displayed along with date/time.

Restore deleted Chrome history from Google Account.

Solution 3: Use data recovery software to recover lost history on Google Chrome

Mostly, when you deleted the Chrome history files and bookmarks on your PC, you can follow the path below to find the backup files of Chrome history/bookmarks:

Google Chrome: C:\Users\(username)\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\local storage(or Bookmarks).

However, if you also lost the backup files on your computer, you'll need professional data recovery software for help. Here we'd like to introduce you EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard - a mini tool for retrieving all lost data and files without limitation. Now you can download it for free and follow the next three steps to retrieve deleted Chrome history:

Launch EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard > Select the location where the Chrome was installed and scan > Preview and choose found Chrome history/bookmark files to restore.

Your Reliable Choice - EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard

  • Recover deleted, formatted, and inaccessible data in different data loss situations.
  • Recover photos, audio, music, and emails from any storage effectively, safely and completely.
  • Recover data from the recycle bin, hard drive, memory card, flash drive, digital camera, and camcorder.
recover data with easeus

Tip: Avoid Chrome browsing history/bookmarks loss issue

To prevent unexpected Chrome browser files from losing again, please follow tips below to back up the Chrome history manually and protect your Chrome history:

  • Step 1: Press Win + R to open the Run dialog, type: %LocalAppData% and press Enter.
  • Step 2: Follow the path: Google\Chrome\UserData\Default, and locate the file Bookmarks or History in the folder.
  • Step 3: Copy the file folder of Bookmarks or History to other hard drives to backup.
  • Step 4: When you lost history or bookmarks, you can copy the files back to the folder that you have opened in Step 2.