Transfer Windows 10 System Files to New HDD or SSD

Brithny updated on Dec 07, 2018 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

How can I transfer Windows 10 system files to new HDD or SSD

When Windows 10 is available, I upgraded my laptop the new system. It is really amazing. But later, I bought a new SSD on Amazon and planned to use it as the boot drive. So I can use the old hard drive as a storage device for data backup or data transfer. Obviously, I need to migrate os from HDD to SSD to achieve this goal. Otherwise, I have to reinstall Windows 10. But I have never tried to transfer Windows 10 system files to new HDD or SSD. And I completely have no idea about how to do it. Is there any program can help? Please give me some suggestion!

Many users tried to move Windows 10 to new HDD or SSD for different reasons such as hard drive upgrade, setting up a new computer, etc. But most of them encountered difficulties when they doing the migration job. So in this page, we would like to introduce how to transfer Windows 10 system files to new HDD or SSD in simple steps. You can try it when you facing a Windows 10 transfer job.   

Transfer Windows 10 system files to new HDD or SSD

First, we want to introduce you a Windows 10 migration tool that you need to use, EaseUS partition software. The program is usually used by people for hard disk partition management. But with a feature of "Migrate OS to HDD/SSD", it also allows you to transfer system between HDD and SSD without losing any data. Now you can try it! 

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Note: The operation of migrating OS to SSD or HDD will delete and remove all existing partitions and data on your target disk. If you saved important data there, back up them to an external hard drive in advance.

 

Step 1: Run EaseUS Partition Master, select "Migrate OS" from the top menu.

select migrate os

Step 2: Select the SSD or HDD as the destination disk and click "Next".

Warning: the data and partitions on the target disk will be deleted. Make sure that you've backed up important data in advance. If not, do it now.

Then click "Migrate" and "OK" to continue.

select the destination disk

Step 3: Preview the layout of your target disk. You can also click the disk layout options to customize the layout of your target disk as you want. Then Click "OK" to continue.

preview the lay out

Step 4: A pending operation of migrating OS to SSD or HDD will be added. Click the "Execute Operation" button and click "Apply" to start migrating your OS to a new disk.

apply the process
 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.