How to Securely Erase or Wipe SSD in Windows 10

Tracy King updated on Aug 27, 2019 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

What Is Secure Erase

Secure Erase is a method used to completely wipe out the data on a hard drive using a set of commands. Secure Erase commands write binary one or zero to the sectors on the hard drive to overwrite all the existing files. That's why the data removed by the Secure Erase commands is not recoverable by any data recovery method available.

However, although they are commands. You cannot run Secure Erase commands like you run commands in Windows 10 in Command Prompt since they are available from the firmware on the hard drive. Thus, to secure erase your SSD in Windows 10, you need third-party software to help you execute these operations.

When Do You Need to Wipe an SSD

When do you need to perform secure erase on an SSD? Completely wiping an SSD is needed when you want to:

  • Resell the SSD: One of the preparations you need to make before reselling a storage device like SSD is to wipe out all the data on it, which prevent others from accessing your files. 
  • Prepare the SSD for another user: To protect your information, you may want to destroy the files on the storage device.
  • Remove virus or malware on the device: If your SSD is infected by a virus or malware, you may want to totally remove it by secure erase your device.

It's necessary to stress that you need to back up your files on your SSD in advance if these files are still useful to you since you cannot recover your data after secure Erase. If you prefer an effective way to make a backup, you can use the free backup software - EaseUS Todo Backup to get things done.

How to Secure Erase/Wipe SSD in Windows 10

The software that will help you erase your SSD in Windows 10 is the partition tool - EaseUS Partition Master. This disk/partition management tool has a feature named "Wipe Data", which works almost the same with Secure Erase commands.

"Wipe Data" vs Secure Erase Commands

Both the "Wipe Data" feature and the Secure Erase command erase your data by overwriting all the data on your SSD. The only difference is that Secure Erase writes binary 1 or 0 to your disk sectors while "Wipe Data" writes random numbers. Most importantly, the consequence of these two operations are the same: the data on the SSD will be wiped out completely.

Get the software to wipe your SSD in Windows 10 right now.

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Simple Steps to Wipe or Erase SSD in Windows 10

Step 1: Install and launch EaseUS Partition Master.

Select the HDD or SSD which you want to wipe. And right-click to choose "Wipe Data".

select wipe data

Step 2: Set the number of times to wipe data.

You can set to 10 at most. Then Click "OK".

set the times

Step 3: Check the message.

A message tells you that the computer would restart after disk erase is recommended. Then click "OK".

check the message

Step 4: Click "Apply" to apply the changes.

Click "Execute the operation" and then click "Apply" to start wiping data.

start wiping data

These operations cannot be undone after applying the changes. Be careful that once the process is carried out by EaseUS Partition Master, the data will become unrecoverable with any data recovery software or service!

The Bottom Line

People might want to wipe or erase an SSD drive for various reasons. Erasing an SSD (solid-state drive) can sanitize the drive. So you can make sure that the virus or malware will no longer hide somewhere in the drive. Besides, wiping an SSD helps to recover lost performance on systems with inefficient garbage collection. But unlike a traditional hard drive disk (HDD), there are not so many tools which can wipe SSD drive. Here to save your time and efforts, we recommend you to try EaseUS partition software, a secure erase utility that does work with SSD drives. With it, you can securely and completely wipe your SSD in Windows 10 to erase all the content, including personal data, virus or malware. 

 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.