Can't Remove Windows.old Folder in Windows 10

Brithny updated on Sep 12, 2019 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

What is Windows.old folder

The Windows.old folder isn’t something new with Windows 10. This folder is created when you upgrade from one version of Windows to another. The Windows.old folder contains all the files and data from your previous Windows installation, so it’s using up a huge amount of space. 

You can use it to restore your system to the old version of Windows if you don’t like the new version. Essentially, the Windows.old folder just contains the old Windows system. From the Windows system files to your installed programs and each user account’s settings and files, it’s all here. If you’re looking for a specific file that wasn’t properly copied to your new Windows installation, you also could dig into the Windows.old folder and find it.

But, don’t wait too long! Windows will automatically delete the Windows.old folder to free up space after a month.

How to delete the Windows.old folder

Before taking the steps below to delete the Windows.old folder, we strongly suggest trying EaseUS free backup software to backup important files in case that something goes wrong and make you lose important files during the process.

  • Launch EaseUS Todo Backup Free, then choose" File Backup".
  • Choose the important files/data or system and then select a backup destination.
  • Click "Proceed" to start the backup process.

Use Disk Cleanup to delete Windows.old folder in Windows 10

Windows.old folder cannot just directly delete by hitting the delete key and you may try to use the Disk Cleanup tool in Windows to remove this folder from your PC:

  • Press Windows + E, click This PC.
  • Right-click the drive with Windows installation and click Properties.
  • Click Disk Cleanup and select Clean up the system.
  • Select the Previous Windows Installation(s) option to delete Windows.old folder.
  • You can also choose to delete other installation files including Windows upgrade log files and Temporary Windows installation files etc.
  • Click OK and select Delete Files on the pop-up dialog to confirm the deletion.
  • Click Yes.

Extra tip: delete Windows.old folder in Windows 10 

  • In the search box on the taskbar, type settings, then choose it from the list of results.
  • Select System > Storage > This PC and then scroll down the list and choose Temporary files.
  • Under Remove temporary files, select the Previous version of Windows check box and then choose to Remove files.

Then Windows.old folder will be deleted in Windows 10 without any obstacles. 

 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.