[Guide] How to Permanently Delete Files from Recycle Bin in Windows 7/8/10

Brithny updated on Nov 30, 2018 to Partition Manager | How-to Articles

PAGE CONTENT:
Manually empty the Recycle Bin
Permanent deletion by erasing data
Clean up junk files

Where Do Things Go When You Delete them from the Recycle Bin

Most of the time we rarely spare a thought for deleted files outside of knowing they are now out of our way, but what actually happens to those files when we delete them? 

The Recycle Bin is a storage room for all the files you delete from your PC. The deleted files remain there until you delete files from Recycle Bin. Deleting a file from the Recycle Bin (or deleting it directly using Shift+Delete) removes the file name entry from the folder. The part of the disk previously occupied by the file is not modified or overwritten and still contains the file data, but that data is no longer linked to a file name. That spot on the disk is recorded as “free”, however, so future writes to the disk can reuse that space, and if you keep using the disk, space will almost certainly be overwritten eventually.

That is to say, the deleted files can still be recovered using a good data recovery tool. The reason for this is that the blocks containing the data on the hard drive don’t get erased when you delete files from Recycle Bin or by using the Shift+Del method. These data blocks remain intact and can be retrieved unless they are overwritten by another file.

How to Completely Empty Recycle Bin

To make sure that you can permanently delete files without recovery, you can follow these steps to completely empty your Recycle Bin.

1. Manually empty the Recycle Bin

  • Right-click on the Recycle Bin icon located on your desktop and select Empty Recycle Bin.
  • OR double-click on the Recycle Bin and click on the Empty Recycle Bin option located on top of the folder window.

2. Permanent deletion  by erasing data

EaseUS Partition Master provides Wipe data feature to erase all disk data permanently in Windows 10/8/7. It can ensure that the data you want to erase from the system is permanently deleted even the data contained in the Recycle Bin. 

Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

 

Step 1: Launch EaseUS Partition Master, right-click the partition you want to erase data from, and choose "Wipe Data".

Wipe Partition - Step 1

Step 2: In the new window, set the time for which you want to wipe your partition, then click "OK".

Wipe Partition - Step 2

Step 3: Click the "Execute Operation" button in the top-right corner, check the changes, then click "Apply" to wipe the data on your partition.

Wipe Partition - Step 3

3. Clean up junk files in Windows 10

After you have wiped data, you'd better clean up junk files.

Step 1: Again, launch EaseUS Partition Master. Select "Tools" and click "System Optimization".

Step 2: Click "Junk File Cleanup". Then you can click "Analyze" to let EaseUS Partition Master find junk files on your PC.

Step 3: You can check and choose junk files and click Clean up. All of the selected junk files will be cleaned and deleted from your PC. Click "Yes" to clean up junk files.

clean up junk files
 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.