[Solved] Where Do Pictures Go After Deleted

Brithny updated on Jul 04, 2019 to File Recovery | How-to Articles

Summary

You may be troubled by this question: Where do photos go when deleted on the PC or Mac? Or where do deleted photos go on iPhone or Android phone? Don't be confused anymore. Find the exact answers here. And you are also provided with the best photos recovery software to recover the permanently deleted pictures from PC, Mac, iPhone, and Android phone effectively.

PAGE CONTENT:
Part 1. Where do deleted photos go on PC and Mac?
Part 2. Where do photos go when deleted from iPhone or Android phone

Part 1. Where Do Deleted Photos Go on Computer? How to Recover

When I delete a picture or file on my computer, where does it go? When you first delete a file on a computer by right-clicking delete option or press "Delete" key, it goes to the computer's Recycle Bin, Trash, or something similar depending on your operating system. When something is sent to the Recycle Bin or Trash, the icon changes to indicate it contains files and if needed allows you to restore a deleted file.

Later, you may empty the Recycle Bin or Trash to free up space. When a computer deletes a file permanently, or the Recycle Bin is emptied, it is removing the reference to the file on the hard drive. Once the file header, or reference, is removed, the computer can no longer see the file. The file is no longer readable by the computer. However, the file is still on the hard drive, at least until another file or part of another file is saved to the same location. As a result, the photos are still recoverable as long as they are not overwritten.

How to Recover Permanently Pictures or Files from a Computer (Windows or Mac)

As mentioned above, whenever you delete photos or files, you only remove the entry and not the files themselves. So the thing is that your operating system doesn't completely erase files right after they were deleted. In reality, the space freed is marked as available, but the files are still there somewhere. Ideally, you should stop using the hard drive, then apply a professional data recovery program to scan and recover the deleted files. The sooner you do the data recovery after you delete your file, the better the chances of recovery will be.  

EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard Free is a powerful and safe file recovery software that works well for deleted photo recovery. It allows you to recover deleted photos from hard drive, memory card, USB drive, digital camera, SD card, memory stick, pen drive, and other storage devices without backup file. And all the recovery process is very simple, takes three steps. In addition to deleted files recovery, this versatile data recovery program still supports formatted recovery, recycle bin emptied data recovery, lost partition recovery, OS crash recovery, RAW partition recovery, etc. 

Now, follow tutorials below to see how to restore deleted photos for free. 

First, get to know some useful features when you recover deleted pictures:

  • Filter: it provides a quick way to wanted files. To find wanted pictures, choose "Graphics" in the Filter list.
  • Search: search for an exact file name or file type. For example, type .png, .jpg, .jpeg, .tif, etc. in the search box to search for the specific types of pictures.

Second, follow a detailed guide to recover deleted pictures:

 

Step 1: Choose a location.

Choose the drive with the correct drive letter (it can be a local disk or an external device) and click the Scan button.

select the location

Step 2: Scan the lost data.

It won't take long for EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard to find deleted contents on the selected drive. Soon, the "Deleted files" result comes out. After the scan is over, there are many scan results showing up under different categories.

click scan

Step 3: Filter pictures and recover.

Use the Filter feature to quickly filter picture files from the results. Also, search for a file name and file type in the Search bar. In the end, select the wanted pictures and click the Recover button.

click recover

Part 2. Where Do Photos Go When Deleted from iPhone or Android Phone? How to Recover

Where do pictures go after deleted on iPhone or Android phone?

When you deleted a photo on iPhone, it goes to the Recently Deleted folder in Photos application, and you can restore it easily. But deleting pictures on an Android phone is similar to removing pictures on a computer's hard drive. Briefly speaking, when you delete photos from Android phone's SD card, the File Access Table on the disk is rewritten to show the area with the data for the file you've deleted as free space. And the pattern will remain there unseen until other files are written on top of it (this is why file recovery software can retrieve the deleted files).

How to Recover Deleted Photos from Your iPhone

As said before, you can recover the deleted photos on iPhone from the Recently Deleted folder with ease.

Step 1. Open the Photos App on your iPhone.

Step 2. Scroll down and tap on "Recently Deleted."

Step 3. Find the photos you want to restore and tap "Recover." You can also press "Delete" to remove photos permanently.

Note: The Recently Deleted folder only holds the deleted pictures for 30 days. If there's a picture you are looking for is older than 30 days, you can't do it in this way. But don't worry! You can still recover the deleted files from iTunes backup (if you have) or use a third-party photo recovery app. 

If you have no iTunes backup, you can check the online tutorial -  easy and simple solutions to recover deleted pictures for iPhone users to get the deleted pictures back.

How to Recover Deleted Photos from an Android Phone

If you want to directly recover lost Android photos, videos, or other data back to the phone without using a computer, best Android data recovery app - EaseUS MobiSaver for Android can help. You can directly download it from Google Play and install it on your Android phone for deleted/lost Android photo/video recovery.

The details are on this page - recover deleted or lost Android photos/videos with or without computer

 
 

100% of people found this article helful.

 

Frequently Asked Qusetions

1. Why cannot I recover 2GB data for free?

It is recommended to check the version installed is Free or Trial because they are different versions.

Trial has data preview function but cannot save any files, while the Free version enables to recover 2 GB files. The default free space is 500 MB and you may share the product on social media to get another 1.5 GB.

2. Why cannot the recovered files be opened?

A file is saved as 2 parts on the storage device: directory info (which is comprised by file name, time stamp and size info, etc.) and data content.

If the files with original file names and folder structures cannot be opened, one possible reason is the corrupted directory info. There is still a chance to recover the data content with the RAW Recovery method in our software.

3. Why isn't it suggested to recover the files back to the original drive?

The storage structure of the lost files would be altered or damaged by any changes on the drive. If you save the recovered files back to the same drive, the original data structures and data content would be corrupted or overwritten, which causes permanent data loss. So you should prepare another disk to save the files.

4. How can I check whether my data is recoverable or not before purchase?

The Free version helps you save 2GB files to better verify the recovery quality of our product before purchase.

5. How long does it take to scan the drive?

It strongly depends on the capacity of your hard drive and the performance of your computer. As reference,most drive recoveries can be completed in around 10 to 12 hours for a 1-TB healthy hard drive in general conditions.

About Data Recovery Wizard

It's super easy to recover 250+ types of files after deletion, disk formatting and virus infection. Click the links and compare the difference of each version.