Wipe Hard Drive in Windows 10 to Protect Privacy

Tracy King updated on Aug 11, 2019 to Partition Master | How-to Articles

"How to wipe data off the Windows 10 hard drive and make them unrecoverable? I would like to completely wipe my desktop hard drive as it goes so unhappy with the new Windows 10 OS. As for wipe hard drive in Windows 10, do you have any suggestions about the best way? I don't want it simply reformatted or have data deleted. I need to wipe data and make them unrecoverable if I reinstall a new Windows system."

Probable Ways to Obliterate Data from Hard Drive & Check The Results

We always want to get rid of old computers, but how to keep our privacy if we decide to discard them or for the case we have to destroy all data from the computer hard drive completely?

You may have the following options:

  • Select all the data on hard drive, and delete permanently
  • Empty all the deleted data from Windows recycle bin
  • Format partitions on a hard drive
  • Repartition a hard drive

What are the results?

  • Do you think the data has been thoroughly wiped out? The answer is no. Data removed by means of standard deleting and formatting can be easily recovered if utilize a data recovery program. So what's the best way to wipe a hard drive and clear all the data away and make sure they are unrecoverable by no means.
Download Now

 Windows 10 is supported

Completely Wipe Hard Drive in Windows 10 with EaseUS Partition Master for Free

Don't worry, EaseUS free partition software provides a one-click method to wipe hard drive in Windows 10, and the old data won't be recovered at all if you set the wiping degree to the utmost 10. Let's download EaseUS Partition Master Free Edition, and start with the following guide.

Step 1: Install and launch EaseUS Partition Master.

Select the HDD or SSD which you want to wipe. And right-click to choose "Wipe Data".

select wipe data

Step 2: Set the number of times to wipe data.

You can set to 10 at most. Then Click "OK".

set the times

Step 3: Check the message.

A message tells you that the computer would restart after disk erase is recommended. Then click "OK".

check the message

Step 4: Click "Apply" to apply the changes.

Click "Execute the operation" and then click "Apply" to start wiping data.

start wiping data
 
 

100% of people found this article helpful.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Choose EaseUS Partition Master?

"I've used Partition Master Professional many times to create, delete, format, move, rename, and resize partitions."PCWorld

"Partitioning tools have come a very long since the days of complicated command line utilities and EASEUS Partition Master is one of the most advanced programs available."TECH ADVISOR

"I love that the changes you make with EaseUS Partition Master Free aren't immediately applied to the disks. It makes it way easier to play out what will happen after you've made all the changes."Lifewire

Will the "Migrate OS" feature transfer the Windows system files only or the whole C drive?

To ensure that the migrated system will boot normally, the Migrate OS feature will transfer all the files in the system and the boot partitions. Generally, the boot partition is the C drive so the transfer will include all the files in C.

Does EaseUS Partition Master license apply to multiple computers?

The license of Partition Master Professional and Server editions can be used on 1 computer only, while that for for the Technician and Unlimited editions can be used on multiple machines.

What is the difference between EaseUS Partition Master Trial version and the Free version?

Free is for home users only, with most basic functions available such as partition resize and clone. While trial can help you understand how this product works and test what a full license can do on a business or server OS machine.

Will it cause any data loss after resizing the partition in EaseUS Partition Master?

Generally, it will not cause any data loss or boot issue by resizing a partition. However, in order to protect your data, we suggest that you backup the partition before resizing, in case of any unexpected situations such as power outages, computer hardware failures, etc. You can use EaseUS Todo Backup to backup the partition and its trial version is fully functioned for 30 days.

What should I prepare before resizing the partition?

On the partition that is going to be operated, there might be some files being occupied by other programs. To ensure a successful operation, we suggest that you close all the unnecessary software before resizing that partition. Otherwise, EaseUS Partition Master will detect the partition being locked by the other software and require a reboot to resize the partition under boot mode.

About EaseUS Partition Master

All-round disk & partition management software for personal and commercial use. Let it manage your storage drive: resize, format, delete, clone, convert, etc.