How to Back Up Your iPhone and Empty Trash on iPhone Thoroughly

Sharing is caring. Tell your friends and help them solve the same problem.

Carman Updated on Jun 25, 2019 to iPhone Data Transfer | How-to Articles

Cannot take shots now? Occupied by a volume of junk mails on new your iPhone X? Duplicated contacts taking up memory? You get an alert that warns you of the situation that your storage on iPhone is almost full now. Running out of storage space can let you very frustrated. You need a quick way to clean up junk files, empty trash to free up space on iPhone and keep only what you want. This article will get you covered on how to back up your iPhone and empty trash on iPhone thoroughly. 

Actually, there is no such Trash or Recycle Bin on iPhone in iOS like on Mac and Windows computer that allows you to clear files by moving them to the Trash or emptying Recycle Bin at one place. However, a deletion option is added in iOS and built into several apps like Photos, Notes, Contact, and Mail. Thus, we here offer a few tricks on how to wipe out useless files and manage your iPhone storage on apps like Photos and Notes as examples that you can refer to in removing iPhone trash.

Before getting started, we propose you to back up iPhone at first in case of unexpected data loss during your management of memory. EaseUS MobiMover Free is a free iPhone data transfer software that can back up iPhone to computer or another iOS device and manage data with its storage in a well-organized manner. 

How to back up iPhone before emptying trash with EaseUS phone transfer freeware?

 Free Download for PC
Secure Download
 Free Download for Mac
Secure Download

Step 1. Connect your iPhone to your computer running Windows or Mac OS systems with a USB cable. Tap "Trust" on your iPhone screen to continue. Run EaseUS MobiMover on your computer, and select the "Phone to PC" to help you back up iPhone data to Window PC. On the right pane, click "Next".

how to back up iPhone to computer - step 1

Step 2. MobiMover enables you to transfer all the iPhone files at once, including photos, videos, movies, music, playlist, ringtones, books, contacts, messages, notes, voice memos, and more. The default storage path is C:\Users\Owners\Desktop. You can customize a location by yourself in advance. Now choose the desired files you want to back up, and click "Transfer". 

how to back up iPhone to computer - step 2

Step 3. Wait patiently until MobiMover finished all data migration from your iPhone to your computer. Once done, you can view, edit, keep, or delete the content as you like.

how to back up iPhone to computer - step 3

After backing up your iPhone, clearing trash away from iPhone really begins.

How to empty trash from Photos app?

Step 1: Open Photos app on your iPhone and enter Photo Albums to select unwanted photos or videos that you are going to delete. Tap Select to choose items and then tap Delete to remove photos/videos.

Step 2: All these deleted photos can be viewed in the Recently Deleted Album. There will be about 30 days to get all back again. To delete unwanted photos/videos permanently, open the Recently Deleted album and tap Select to choose the files to be emptied from Photos. 

Step 3: Just click Delete to clean up trash from Photos app. Please note the photos you delete permanently may be irrecoverable and ensure the pictures before you delete photos on iPhone.

Similar to the steps to empty trash from Photos app, you can erase overdue notes from Notes app and reclaim storage space on iPhone.

How to delete out-of-date notes and empty from Notes app?

Step 1: Open Notes app on your iPhone and select outdated notes that you want to remove from the app. Tap Delete and move these notes to the Recently Deleted folder.

Step 2: Tap on the Recently Deleted folder and open this file folder. You see a warning that notes are permanently deleted after 30 days. At this time, if you want to recover deleted note on iPhone or restore notes that are mistakenly deleted, just tap Move All to get notes back. 

Step 3: At last, select the deleted notes again in Recently Deleted and tap Delete All if you're sure to do that. Soon you get such notes emptied.