How to Wipe an iPhone Completely

Sharing is caring. Tell your friends and help them solve the same problem.

Myra Posted on May 19, 2017 to iOS & Mac Topics | How-to Articles

Having upgrade to the newest iPhone, want to prepare the old one for sale? We both know there's one thing need to be done before doing that - erasing all data from the old iPhone to protect privacy. This blog will uncover the steps to wipe an iPhone safely and completely. Another thing you need to do is to make sure all your data have been backed up and are accessible to your new iPhone.

Related blog: How to use Reduce White Point on iPhone
                      How to pair Apple Watch to iPhone

How to wipe an iPhone

Step 1: Open "Settings" App and go to "General".
Step 2: Choose "Reset".
Step 3: Tap on "Erase ALL Content and Settings" to wipe the iPhone totally.

How to wipe an iPhone

Notes: 

Before the data erasing, make sure you sign out of iCloud, or your iPhone will remain in Activation Lock, which means even if you have erased you iPhone, the device is still connected to your account. You don't want to see this happen if you intent to sell it and protect your privacy.

There are two ways to sign out of iCloud.

1.If you are with an iPhone in iOS 10.2 or earlier versions:

  • Open "Settings" App
  • Choose "iCloud"
  • Click "Sign Out"

2.If you are with an iPhone in iOS 10.3 or later versions:

  • Open "Settings" App
  • Tap on your name
  • Click "Sign Out"

I guess you may need to know how to restore data from iTunes. If you have any question about your iDevices, you can search for answers in out HOW-TO section or leave a message to us. We will help you out as soon as possible.