How to Erase All Content And Settings on iPhone

Sharing is caring. Tell your friends and help them solve the same problem.

Katrin Posted on Dec 20, 2017 to iOS & Mac Topics | How-to Articles

Before you sell or give your iPhone away, you should delete your personal information on it. But how to erase all content and settings on iPhone? You should not manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photos or other iCloud data while you are logged in to iCloud with your Apple ID. This would also delete the content from the iCloud servers and any other devices you use to log in to iCloud. Here in this article, we will show you the way and what you should do before you do it.

Step 1. Back up your iPhone before you erase all the content and settings

Even though you do not want the iPhone anymore, there might still be a lot of data on the device that you want to keep. So before you erase all content and settings on iPhone, you should back up your iPhone first. Here we show you 2 methods to correctly back up your iPhone.

Method 1. Create a backup copy via iCloud

  • Connect your device to a WLAN network.
  • Select Settings > [your name], and then tap iCloud. If you are using iOS 10.2 or older, scroll down in Settings, then tap iCloud.
  • Tap on "iCloud Backup". If you are using iOS 10.2 or older, tap Backup. Make sure the iCloud backup option is enabled.
  • Tap on "Back Up Now". Do not disconnect from the WLAN network until the operation is complete.

Method 2. Transfer all files from iPhone to computer

 Download It for PC
Secure Download
 Download It for Mac
Secure Download

iCloud only provides 5 GB of storage in iCloud. What if your iCloud storage is full, that you can't create a backup copy successfully? Here we recommend you to transfer all the files from iPhone to PC using a free iPhone data transfer. EaseUS MobiMover Free is our recommendation. It provides easy to use the function in data transfer and iPhone content management. The process is quite easy:

Download and install MobiMover Free > Connect iPhone to PC > Transfer to Computer

And it's done! After you've backed up your iPhone or transferred all the files from your iPhone to computer, you can start to erase all the data and settings on it.

Step 2. Erase all content and settings on iPhone

  • Log off from iCloud and the iTunes Store and App Store.
  • If you are using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings > [your name]. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Disable.
  • If you are using iOS 10.2 or older, tap Settings > iCloud > Sign Out. Tap "Sign Out" again. Then tap Delete from My [device] and enter your Apple ID password. Go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > Apple ID > Sign Out.
  • Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.
  • When your device code or restriction code are needed, enter it. Then press "Erase iPhone".